Ride & Outdoor — Fat-tire electric bikes
VIVI ACE01 review: torque assist, 720Wh and a weight conflict
The VIVI ACE01 Space Black pairs a 720Wh battery, torque-sensing assist and 180mm hydraulic disc brakes. Its official page also publishes a serious weight discrepancy.
PickBadger has a paid business relationship with VIVI and earns a commission on purchases made through this page. How this works.
Short verdict
Source-only assessment No score is published because PickBadger has not handled this product. The summary below interprets only the manufacturer’s published specifications, labels and terms.
VIVI specifies a 1500W peak hub motor, 720Wh battery, torque sensor, 330 lb load limit and 26 x 4-inch tires for the ACE01. The maker rates pedal-assist range at 34 to 60 miles, but its own tables conflict on bicycle weight, listing both 72 lb and 95 lb. That unresolved figure materially affects buying.
What works
- 720Wh removable battery and 3A charger are specified
- Torque sensor and five assist levels are listed, not cadence-only assist
- Front and rear 180mm hydraulic disc brakes
- 330 lb bike load and 55 lb integrated rear-rack limit
What doesn’t
- Official page conflicts between 72 lb and 95 lb bicycle weights
- Only 1500W peak power is stated; nominal motor output is unpublished
- Up to 60 miles is manufacturer-rated, with no full test protocol
- Rear equipment is a reflector, not a powered tail or brake light
Specifications
| Motor | 1500W peak brushless hub, 90Nm; nominal output TODO: verify |
|---|---|
| Battery | 48V, 15Ah, 720Wh removable lithium-ion |
| Manufacturer-rated range | 28-34 mi pure electric; 34-60 mi pedal assist |
| Weight | TODO: verify; official page lists both 33 kg / 72 lb and 43 kg / 95 lb |
| Load limit | 330 lb |
| Rear rack load | 55 lb |
| Brakes | Front and rear hydraulic discs, 180mm rotors |
| Tires | 26 x 4.0 in, 30 TPI fat tires |
| Sensor | Torque sensor |
| Pedal assist | Five levels |
| Drivetrain | Shimano 1 x 7-speed, 11-28T |
| Charging time | 4-6 hours with 54.6V, 3A charger |
| Listed speeds | 20 mph regular; 25 mph maximum |
| Frame | 6061 aluminium alloy, high-step |
| Rider height guide | 5 ft 3 in to 6 ft 5 in |
| Ingress rating | IP54 |
Source: VIVI ACE01 official product page, retrieved . View the source. Figures are the manufacturer’s own published claims, not PickBadger measurements.
Buy it if
: You want a high-step fat-tire e-bike with torque-sensing assist, a 720Wh removable battery, an included rear rack and a published 330 lb load limit.
Skip it if
: You need a dependable weight figure before arranging stairs, transport or a rack. VIVI’s official page gives two incompatible bicycle weights, 72 lb and 95 lb.
Motor, battery and rated range
VIVI lists a brushless hub motor at 1500W peak and 90Nm. It does not publish a nominal wattage, so 1500W must stay attached to the word peak. The 48V, 24A controller does not provide enough information to invent a continuous motor rating, and the missing figure remains TODO: verify.
The removable battery is specified at 48V, 15Ah and 720Wh. A 54.6V, 3A charger is included, with four to six hours listed for charging. VIVI says the battery can be charged on or off the bike.
There are two range bands on the official table: 28 to 34 miles in pure-electric use and 34 to 60 miles with pedal assist. Both are manufacturer-rated. VIVI does not state a complete test protocol covering rider mass, speed, assist level, terrain, temperature and tire pressure. The upper number is therefore not presented here as real range.
Weight, load and fit
Weight is the page’s clearest documentation problem. The Performance section lists bicycle weight as 33 kg or 72 lb. The Geometry section later lists 43 kg or 95 lb with battery included. Earlier, 43 kg or 95 lb is also the stated package weight. Those entries cannot all describe the same thing, so choosing 72 lb would be unjustified and choosing 95 lb would be equally uncertain.
The load figures are clearer. VIVI publishes a 330 lb maximum for the bicycle and a separate 55 lb capacity for the integrated aluminium rear rack. The rack allowance sits inside the total load, not on top of it.
Fit guidance spans riders from 5 feet 3 inches to 6 feet 5 inches, with an adjustable seat height of 32.3 to 38.6 inches and a 30.3-inch standover. Because the frame is high-step and does not fold, prospective buyers should compare those official dimensions with a bicycle that already fits.
Assist, drivetrain and braking
The ACE01 uses a torque sensor rather than a basic cadence trigger. A torque sensor measures pedal effort and requests proportional assistance, while five assist levels determine how much support is available. That describes the control method, not the smoothness of its tuning, which has not been assessed here.
Mechanical gearing is a Shimano 1 x 7 setup with an 11-to-28-tooth freewheel and a 42-tooth chainring. VIVI lists regular speed at 20 mph, maximum speed at 25 mph and the e-bike class as Class 2. Because classification rules vary and a 25 mph maximum sits above the usual Class 2 assist cutoff in many US jurisdictions, buyers should confirm the delivered settings and local rules.
Braking is by front and rear hydraulic discs with 180mm rotors and motor-cutoff levers. The page identifies the hardware but publishes no stopping-distance, heat or wet-braking test. Those outcomes cannot be inferred from rotor diameter alone.
Tires, frame and equipment
The aluminium high-step frame carries 26 by 4-inch, 30 TPI fat tires on double-wall aluminium rims. VIVI describes them as anti-puncture, but no test standard or puncture-protection layer is specified. Tire pressure is also absent from the product page, so the official manual and tire sidewalls should govern inflation.
The fork is listed with 100mm travel, lockout and adjustment. Full-coverage fenders, a kickstand and the rear rack are included. At the front, VIVI lists an integrated 48V LED headlight. At the rear it lists a quick-release reflector, not a powered tail light or brake light, an important distinction for buyers planning low-light use.
VIVI lists IP54 and states SGS certification to UL 2849 and UL 2271 on the official page. This review records those as manufacturer-published statements; it has not independently authenticated a certificate or tested ingress.
Questions
How much does the VIVI ACE01 weigh? +–
VIVI's Performance table says 33 kg or 72 lb. Its Geometry table says 43 kg or 95 lb with the battery included, which is also the package weight published earlier on the page. Because those entries conflict, this review marks bicycle weight TODO verify rather than choosing the more favorable number.
What range does VIVI claim for the ACE01? +–
VIVI rates pure-electric range at 28 to 34 miles and pedal-assist range at 34 to 60 miles. These are manufacturer figures, not results from this review. The product page does not publish a full protocol for rider mass, assistance level, speed, elevation, temperature and tire pressure, all of which affect range.
What is the ACE01 motor's nominal power? +–
VIVI identifies a brushless hub motor with 1500W peak output and 90Nm torque, but it does not state nominal wattage. Peak power cannot be treated as continuous output, so the spec table preserves the peak label and marks nominal power TODO verify instead of inferring it from the controller.
How much can the ACE01 rear rack carry? +–
The ACE01 includes an integrated aluminium rear rack that VIVI rates for 25 kg or 55 lb. That rack figure is not extra capacity beyond the bike's 330 lb overall load limit. Rider, luggage and accessories must remain within the whole-bike limit, subject to the maker's instructions.
The bottom line
The ACE01’s published package is easy to understand: 720Wh, torque sensing, seven gears, 180mm hydraulic discs, 26 by 4-inch tires and a 330 lb load limit for $929.99 in the selected in-stock Space Black variant. The unresolved weight is not a small footnote, and neither is the unpublished nominal motor rating. Until those points are verified and an operator supplies an actual assessment, the score remains zero.
More from Ride & Outdoor
Ausom L2 Max Dual Motor review: 998.4Wh and two 1000W motors
Ausom's L2 Max Dual Motor combines two 1000W motors, a 998.4Wh battery and front-and-rear disc brakes.
Freego X1 SE review: 750W, 1620Wh listed and four-piston brakes
Freego's X1 SE combines a 750W nominal motor, 60V 25Ah battery and four-piston hydraulic brakes.
FunWater Snake review: a 10-foot-6 SUP with 350 lb capacity
FunWater's Snake inflatable paddle board is 10 feet 6 inches long, 33 inches wide and rated for 350 lb at…